You may be aware that Delaware has decriminalized the possession of marijuana for personal use. Decriminalization is different in every state, and should you have any interest in the plant, it is important for you to understand the limitations of decriminalization and the penalties for violating these limitations.
The first thing that you must keep in mind is that marijuana is still illegal in Delaware. According to the National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Law, the fine is only as much as $100 if you are found in possession of one ounce of marijuana or less. If you are caught having a quantity within this limit, you could be charged with a civil infraction, which is about as serious as a traffic offense.
Do bear in mind that the penalties increase drastically for anyone who is caught with more than one ounce. Having an amount of marijuana between 175 grams and one ounce is a misdemeanor. You could be fined up to $575 and spend up to three months in jail.
It can get very expensive if you are found with more than 175 grams of marijuana. This is because the court has full control over how much it decides to fine you in such instances. You could also be charged with a felony.
The incarceration times vary, with the potential of facing as much as 25 years in prison for an amount exceeding 5000 grams and as little as three years in prison for an amount between 175 and 1500 grams. If, however, you are found with 5000 or more grams, the mandatory minimum prison sentence is two years.